NaNoWriMo 2013 Nov 20th Meeting Fort Erie Public Library Derek Clendening, Paige, Linda Randall


left paige linda randall (the idea girl says) author Derek Clendening NaNoWriMo 2013 Fort Erie Public Library Program

left paige linda randall (the idea girl says) author Derek Clendening NaNoWriMo 2013 Fort Erie Public Library Program

the idea girl says

nov 20,2013 (wed at 330pm ) we had our last NaNoWriMo 2013 meeting at the fort erie public library.

here are my notes on what was discussed:

Paige *did a video blog interview it’s been uploaded to the idea girl says youtube channel *

Paige is currently working on a manuscript with the genre – relative fiction (teen novel)

Derek Clendening attends Conference Centres and his favorite is the Horror conventions.

we talk about writing a synopsis

Main Characters are mentioned whose lives are changed by the events in your story.

NaNoWriMo 2013 videos

2 of Derek 1 of Paige from Nov 20th, 2013 meeting on the idea girl says youtube channel.

what happens at a convention, conference for writers?

you all go into a room with Agents, Editors

called Pitch Sessions, giving a one sentence exciting description of your manuscript to them

Dress as you will for an interview – dress pants, shirt, present the hook line of your book to them

How do you deal with Harsh Reviews?

“You develop a thick skin as an author.”

I’m still working on that as a video blogger, I get lots of negative comments on my alien research videos, and they are quite hurtful.

I asked should authors talk back to negative comments?

He says it’s unprofessional to do so!

I think he’s probably right, but I like to poke fun at them anyways, hoping to teach them a lesson.

Why so negative, usually a – they don’t have the mental capacity to understand it, or b they like to be rude to people on the internet (everyone not just you) or C they really don’t like your work!

He talks about Jeff Strand having youtube book trailers (I asked him to mention my blog to Jeff and have him send me videos on Linkedin (idea girl canada, idea girl says youtube or linda randall on Linkedin)

or on facebook, are the two places I take book trailers from messages sent to me.

I often get a tweet, i’ve got a book, here’s my link.

that doesn’t work with me, because i really am too busy doing so many things, it’s best to send the actual share video link from youtube in your messages to me, so i can click on it, take a look and blog it in the right section.

If they dont do it the way I ask for the submissions, then they are out of luck, I disregard it and go onto the next one.

Kind of like literary agents do – you have to fill out synopsis or cover letters exactly as they specify or your work and emails to them go into the slush pile or garbage bins…

he talks about Jeff Strand getting excellent comments on ALL of his books (talented writer) on good reads and amazon comments. in a 1 to 5 star review, usually jeff get’s star4 or star 5.

Anne Rice = she comments back to negative and positive people .

I asked Derek what conferences do you suggest we attend?

He advises us to look up conference centers on the Canadian Authors Association site.

http://www.canauthors.org/

Derek loves attending the WORld Horror Convention and the next one’s to be in Portland Oregon USA

http://www.worldhorrorconvention.com/

I did a google search and sure enough i found pics of him there lol

AustinAirport world horror convention Derek Clendening scott edelman

AustinAirport world horror convention Derek Clendening scott edelman

world horror convention Derek Clendening and gene O'Neill
world horror convention Derek Clendening and gene O’Neill

world horror convention Derek Clendening horror writers board

world horror convention Derek Clendening horror writers board

 

world horror convention Derek Clendening and Nick Mamatas

 

world horror convention Derek Clendening and Nick Mamatas

 

world horror convention Derek Clendening lifts up nick mamatas

 

world horror convention Derek Clendening lifts up nick mamatas

 

words come to mind.. BEAR HUG!!!! lol

 

world horror convention Derek Clendening nick mamantas

 

world horror convention Derek Clendening nick mamantas

 

** it looks like fun don’t it!**

 

Derek says to quote “ignore any literary agents that come up and offer to HELP you”

 

I am paraphrasing what he said, not sure if he said it this way, but this is how my brain filtered it? 🙂

 

you want someone who is credible, and willing to look at your work, if they are desperate to enlist you (unless you are a well known and already published author) then be careful, do some research on them before signing any deals.

Derek says to get the best deals buy a Convention Membership

 

He likes going to the parties (horror convention parties) to connect with other authors, editors and publishers.

 

Buy your tickets online

 

and go meet agents, publishers have some free food, drinks and often authors hand out free books to you as well.

 

It was a good meeting, I showed him my rewrite for the character’s showing a description not telling and he said it was good.

 

I was happy to hear that!

 

I haven’t worked on my manuscript at all for weeks now, I’m up to 53,000 words and I plan to upload it as it is.

I’m thinking of printing up all 210 pages of it, then rewriting the whole thing using those as my notes if I want to continue this story.

Or I’ll probably shelve it as novel #27 written, not edited, and there for when I ever get around to doing it.

Filming projects have slowed down, but when Derek starts the writing classes in January, I hope he’ll let me do some more interviews with the particpants if they wish to do so! 😉

 

good material for the idea girl says wordpress blog.

 

here’s the links to the three videos i’ve blogged from this meeting.

 

http://theideagirlsays.wordpress.com/2013/11/22/nanowrimo-2013-paige-fort-erie-library-teen-writing-young-adult-relative-fiction/

 

http://theideagirlsays.wordpress.com/2013/11/23/nanowrimo-2013-derek-clendening-the-between-years-vampire-ways-alexandra-rowan-donavan-starr/

http://theideagirlsays.wordpress.com/2013/11/23/nanowrimo-2013-fort-erie-library-paige-linda-randall-derek-clendening-writing-programs/

i looked up jeff strand on google 🙂

Derek Clendening recommends good reads amazon author Jeff strands books fang boy dweller

Derek Clendening recommends good reads amazon author Jeff strands books fang boy dweller

stokers-whc-2013-nola jeff strand new orleans food fav central grocery

stokers-whc-2013-nola jeff strand new orleans food fav central grocery

read more about this photo and story here

http://lynnehansen.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/whc-2013-nola-con-report-lynne-hansen/

About the idea girl

Author, Blogger, Writer, Music, Entertainment, Movies, Novels, Book Reviews, Arts, Fiction, Travel, Hiking, Comedy, Humor, Jokes, Celebrity News Photos, The Power of the Platform Speakers on Life
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.