Query Middle Grade Fiction Chapter Book The Solomon Flying Machine Talcott Notch – Rachael Dugas Saba Sulaiman


Query Middle Grade Fiction Chapter Book The Solomon Flying Machine Talcott Notch – Rachael Dugas Saba Sulaiman

rachael dugas tal cott notch literary agent middle grade fiction childrens books the solomon flying machine by linda randall

rachael dugas tal cott notch literary agent middle grade fiction childrens books the solomon flying machine by linda randall

sent june 13,2013, received Jan 21, 2014 time 7 months to reply 😉

I loved Saba Sulaiman’s response.

They thank me for my query and my patience (I am giggling because I TOTALLY forgot I’d sent a query…)

They apologize for not responding sooner, due to the volume of queries.

They reviewed my submission, and conferred with senior members of the agency (wow – they had a meeting about it! – cool!)

They have to pass on the solomon flying machine.

They read my query with interest (sounds like they like my story idea).

But they don’t take on children’s chapter books as a “matter of policy.”

Then she says their opinion is subjective, and other agencies might feel differently (a ray of hope and sunshine there.)

She encourages me to “query widely” as I may not know who will feel that “spark” for my book as it currently stands.

(positive feedback, i have to look for someone who is passionate about this chapter book story)

They appreciate the opportunity to consider my work and wish me the best of luck in finding representation. 😉

I emailed her back with, I have four stories for this series all which can be combined into one story with over 25,000 words as a children’s book. 😉

But the catch is I haven’t finished editing the other three stories. ooops. but that’s the truth.

I haven’t had any luck with my chapter books because it looks like the market’s not SELLING them…

I guess I’m going to have to take some time out of my zillion other projects to edit this manuscript, and change it so it’s all one story instead of four continuing stories…

2 Broad Street
Second Floor, Suites 1,2 & 10
Milford, CT 06460
ph: 203-876-4959
fax: 203-876-9517
editorial@talcottnotch.net

About the idea girl

Author, Blogger, Writer, Music, Entertainment, Movies, Novels, Book Reviews, Arts, Fiction, Travel, Hiking, Comedy, Humor, Jokes, Celebrity News Photos, The Power of the Platform Speakers on Life
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.